About Us

The Westford Conservation Trust is a private, non-profit, non-governmental organization incorporated in 1984 under Massachusetts law for the purpose of preserving land and other natural resources. The Trust is a charitable, 501-C3 organization, for which all donations are tax deductible. The Trust is run by a volunteer Board of Directors. Since its beginning, the Trust has acquired a number of open space areas and trails through both direct ownership and permanent conservation restrictions.


  • To preserve open land, water resources, wildlife and other natural resources.
  • To establish and maintain trails.
  • To preserve and protect historic sites.
  • To educate the public about the wise use of natural resources.

We hold numerous parcels of land for the benefit of Westford’s citizens and wildlife, and are involved with the care and maintenance of many of the 75+ miles of trails in the town of Westford. We also provide monthly guided walks, are involved in invasive species management, water quality sampling, scout project mentoring and sponsoring high school and college scholarships. We sponsor the Westford Wildlife Watch column, printed monthly in the Westford Eagle. We work with the Town government to help secure open space parcels and to pass other open space initiatives.

The Westford Conservation Trust is often mistaken for the Westford Conservation Commission, which is a governmental function of the Town of Westford. The Commission members are appointed by the Selectmen for three year terms. They are the Town body responsible for protection of Westford natural resources with major responsibility for administration of the State’s Wetlands Protection Act and the Westford Wetland By-law.

Frequently asked questions about the Trust.

Westford Conservation Trust Officers and Directors

As our by-laws require, Directors, Associate Directors, the Clerk and the Treasurer are voted into office by the membership of the Trust at the Annual Meeting on the first Thursday in November each year. A nominating committee presents a slate, and nominations are also taken from the floor. The President and Vice President are elected by the Board at the next Board meeting. Other positions are appointed by the Board at various times.

Trust President Rich Strazdas
Vice President Mark Minnucci
Treasurer Gerry DiBello
Clerk Diane Duane
Directors Leonard Palmer
Andrew Sammarco
Alden Wood
Honorary Directors Marian Harman
Bill Harman
C. Thomas Paul
Associate Directors Rosemarie Koester
Elizabeth McGuire
Ron Gemma

Westford Conservation Trust Committees

Newsletter Gerald DiBello
Land and Trails Rich Strazdas
Membership Leonard Palmer
Mark Minnucci
Scholarship Elizabeth McGuire
Rosemarie Koester
Andrew Sammarco
Invasive Species Management Gerry DiBello
Outreach and Public Relations Diane Duane
Water Quality Diane Duane
Webmaster Trail Websites

Westford Conservation Trust Scholarships

Each year the Trust presents college scholarships to Westford seniors who demonstrate an interest
beyond their studies in the cause of conservation. If you are interested in applying and attend Westford
Academy (WA), please speak with a WA guidance counselor to obtain the correct forms. If your
education is outside the public school system, send a brief summary of your conservation activities and
interest to the trust and a Scholarship Committee Member will contact you. Education and
conservation are foremost in the minds of the Trust directors and we hope to encourage the youth of
Westford to follow this same passion.

For more information contact the Westford Conservation Trust at info@westfordconservationtrust.org.

Read more about our 2022 scholarship recipients.