Special Dispatch to the Globe

Daily Boston Globe (1928-1960); Sep 22, 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Boston Globe

pg. A4

## ESTFORD OBSERVES 200TH ANNIVERSARY OF ITS INCORPORATION BY GREAT PAG



Above: Leaders in Pageant Feature, Left to Right-Mrs Alice Wells, Rev Roger Garland, Regina Mc-Lenna, Mary G. Balch, Mrs Elizabeth Whittemore, Fisher Buckshorn, Gustave Peterson and Mrs Robert Prescott. Below—"After the Battle of Concord Bridge"—Left to Right—W. R. Roudenbush, Charles Blodgett, Clyde Prescott, Rev Roger Garland, Harwood L. Wright, Edson G. Boynton, Mathson Foster and Edward Downing.

Special Dispatch to the Globe

WESTFORD, Sept 21-With notable guests, former residents and thousands of visitors here today, the opening ex-ercises of the three day celebration

ercises of the three day celebration of the 200th anniversary of the incorporation of the town were held in the center village.

The four precincts of the town, embracing Westford proper, Graniteville, Forge Village and Brookside, joined in the brilliant program, with all residents entering into the spirit of the occasion, to do honor to the town for the achievements of the past and to wish it Godspeed on the drawing of its third century.

wish it Godspeed on the warms, third century.
With public buildings, monuments and residents in holiday attire, the staid town was transformed into a bower of beauty that was further enhanced during the afternoon when the feature event of the day's program, a historical pageant, written and directed by Mr and Mrs Charles Fairchild of Ayer, was presented with Prospect hill, a natural grandstand, as the

Westford's history antedates the Revolutionary war and her sons were prominent in those pioneer days. They also took their places at Lexington, Concord and Bunker Hill, many being identified with that great and glorious army of Minute men, who responded to the call and were present when "the shot was fired that was heard round the world."

Through Pageantry

Through the art of pageantry, those days and the principal historic incidents connected with the foundation and growth, the traditions and the memories of the country were reenacted by a cast of 700, garbed in acted by a cast of 700, garbed in costumes of the past and present, all planting the 200th anniversary tree.

executed their roles in a of whom

of whom executed their roles in a commendable manner.

The pageant came as a fitting climax of the first day's program, which opened this morning with sports at the Whitney Playground, followed by an anniversary banquet in the Town Hall at 12:30, attended by many dignitaries, with Selectman Berton D. Griffith extending a word of welcome and Exsenator Herbert E. Fletcher serving as toastmaster.

tending a word of the serving as toastmaster.

A special guest at the dinner was Miss Hattie Hodgman, daughter of the late Rev Edwin R. Hodgman, who wrote the history of Westford in 1883. Among the speakers were Representative Edith Nourse Rogers, Lieut Gov Youngman, Edward Fisher, chairman of the State Board of Arbitration; State Senator Walter Perham, Representative Edward Robbins, and Selectmen from the surrounding towns.

The sports program included a ball game between the Abbot team and the Sargent A. A., and field and track events for boys and girls.

The program for the second day of the celebration tomorrow opens with memorial services in the First Parish Church and St Catherine's Church. Rev. Nehemiah Boynton of Newton Centre, formerly of Littleton, will officiate at the First Parish Church, and Rev Fr Aloysius Malone, pastor of the Graniteville Church, will conduct serv-

Rev Fr Aloysius Malone, pastor of th Graniteville Church, will conduct serv

ices there.

Both will speak on the significance of the occasion and recall the notable deeds of townfolks and pray for guidance in the future.

In the afternoon the Abbot Worsted o Band will give a concert on the

This part of the program wiff be in charge of Edward Fisher, who will deliver an address, congratulating the town on its honorable record of 200 years and expressing the hope that it will continue to grow and prosper.

The celebration will be brought to a close Monday evening, the actual date of the anniversary, with fireworks at the Whitney Playground at 8 o'clock, to be followed by a concert and the anniversary ball in the Town Hall.

The general committee in charge of

niversary ball in the Town Hall.

The general committee in charge of the celebration follows: Burton D. Griffith, Selectman, chairman; William R. Taylor, Selectman: Mark A. Palmer, Selectman: Herbert V. Hildreth, Precinct 1; Walter C. Wright, Precinct 2; Herbert E. Fletcher, Precinct 3; Richard D. Prescott, Precinct 4.

The principal players were:

Mrs Daisy Perty Rev Rozer E Garland

Arro D. Prescott, Precinct 4.

The principal players were:

Mrs Daisy Perry
Miss Mary G Balch
Fisher Bucksborn
Win B Roudenbush
Edward Downins
Mca Win R Taylor
Mrs He Hildreth
Mrs Hary Hildreth
Miss Mary Witson
Miss Ledit Wright
Miss Marjorite Wilson
Miss Loutherland
Miss Arroll J Rollins
Rev Edward Disbrow
Miss Lillian O'Brien
Mrs Alice Heywood
Miss Regina McLena
Miss Healen
Mrs Melland
Miss Regina McLena
Miss Helen Greix
Mrs Miss Helen Greix
Mrs Miss Helen Greix
Mrs Miss Helen Greix
Mrs Miss Leola C Bradley
Mrs Charles Blodzett
Mrs Perrol
Mrs Alice Heywood
Miss Ecola C Bradley
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William E Wright
Miss Alice Meyels
Mrs William E Wright
Miss Alice Heywood
Miss Ecola C Bradley
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William E Wright
Miss Alice Heywood
Miss Leola C Bradley
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William E Wright
Miss Alice Heywood
Miss Leola C Bradley
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William E Wright
Miss Alice Heywood
Miss Leola C Bradley
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William E Wright
Miss Alice Heywood
Miss Leola C Bradley
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William E Wright
Miss Alice Heywood
Miss Leola C Bradley
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William Revinus
Miss Alice Heynius
Miss Alice Heywood
Miss Leola C Bradley
Mrs William Wright
Chas W Robinson
William Revinus
Edith Wright
Miss Marjorie Wilson
Miss Leithard Wilson
Miss Leola C Bradley
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William E Wright
Miss Alice Heywood
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William E Wright
Miss Alice Heywood
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William E Wright
Miss Alice Heywood
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William Revinus
Mrs Alice Heynius
Mrs Alice Heywood
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William Revinus
Miss Alice Heynius
Mrs Alice Heywood
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs William Revinus
Miss Alice Heynius
Mrs Alice Heywood
Mrs Lotar
Mrs Alice Heywood
Mrs Robert Prescott
Mrs ms Charles Blodrett
Mrs Percy E Wright
Robert Dane
Herour Dane
Her